Praying the Spirit’s Blessing to Pentecost: Day 24

Tuesday, April 23, 2024 – Day 24

Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him! Isaiah 30:18

Scripture Insights

Today’s scripture shares so much about the character of God. At the core of God’s nature, he is gracious, compassionate, and just! I think you would agree that God showing up on our behalf in these ways is overwhelming. Not only do we not deserve the love that continues to pursue us, but he also longs to love us in this way.

When I think about longing, I remember when I started dating my wife. She followed God’s call and served in missions for a summer in a city far from me. It was a long summer that created a longing in me to be close to her again. She was always on my mind, and I rearranged my schedule daily, anticipating her phone calls. I lived for those ten-minute calls.

It’s hard to believe God longs for time with us. He looks forward with great anticipation to time spent with us. I am so grateful to be loved in this kind of way by the God who created us and everything around us.

Today’s Prayer

Father, thank you for your grace, compassion, and justice. You are so good to us! Help us receive the love you have for us and, through your Holy Spirit, extend these same beautiful traits to those around us.

What is the Spirit saying to you today?

—Kevin Donoho Lead Pastor, Olathe College Church of the Nazarene (Kansas)

Leave a comment